2020 ACT Training Awards - Frequently asked questions

If you have any further questions, please contact the ACT Training Awards Team by email to Skills Canberra or phone on 6205 8555.

General questions

Each category for the ACT Training Awards has different eligibility criteria. The criteria for each category can be found in the nomination guides:

Nominations for the 2020 ACT Training Awards are now open and will close at 5:00pm on Thursday 28 May 2020.

There is no fee to nominate.

Nominees in all categories may re-nominate for the same or other award categories in subsequent years provided they meet the eligibility requirements.

Individuals can only nominate for one ACT Training Award category per year and must not nominate for another state or territory’s training awards in the same nominating year.

Organisations may nominate for more than one category provided they meet the eligibility criteria and clearly differentiate the information in their nominations between each category. Separate nominations must be submitted for each category an organisation intends to nominate for.

There are 3 judges on each panel. Where possible, each panel will be made up of:

  • a representative from Skills Canberra (ACT Government)
  • an industry/VET sector representative
  • a past winner of that award category.

All judges are required to sign a conflict of interest declaration and a confidentiality agreement as part of the judging process.

Stage 1 - Compliance checking

  • All nominations will be checked to ensure they meet the eligibility criteria.
  • Eligible nominations will be provided to the judging panel for short-listing.

Stage 2 - Short-listing

  • Each written nomination will be assessed against the assessment criteria to determine the short-listed nominees.
  • The judging panel may select up to 6 finalists for each award category.
  • All nominees will be advised whether they have been short-listed as a finalist.

Stage 3 - Interviewing

  • Each of the short-listed nominees will need to attend an interview (in person) with the judging panel.
  • The winner of each category will be announced at the ACT Training Awards Presentation Dinner.

All nominees will be advised by email if they have been short-listed as a finalist.

Winners and finalists in all categories are encouraged to promote themselves as a 'Winner/Finalist 2020 ACT (award) of the Year' in resumes, publications, websites and social media platforms.


Employers and training providers should encourage and support individuals in writing their nominations, but the nomination should be written by the individual. All individual nominations require a letter of support from their employer, training provider or group training organisation.

As a school student undertaking a VET course through your school, you can nominate for the Vocational Student of the Year (provided you meet all other eligibility requirements).

There is no restriction on qualification level in the Vocational Student of the Year category. If you are an Australian School-based Apprentice (ASBA), you should nominate for the ASBA of the Year award.

No, the ASBA of the Year category does not require you to complete your qualification. Please refer to the eligibility criteria for the ASBA of the Year category in the Individual Nomination Guide for more information.

This is the term used to describe both apprentices and trainees, who have entered into an ACT Australian Apprenticeship Training Contract.

A legally binding agreement between an Australian Apprentice and their employer which defines the rights and responsibilities of each party and allows the individual to undertake an Australian Apprenticeship with that employer.

You can email Skills Canberra or phone on 6205 8555. For security purposes you will have to provide your full name, date of birth and may be asked additional questions to confirm your identity before any information about your training record is provided.


In the case of employers and registered training organisations (RTOs) with activities in more than one State or Territory, only the training activities in the ACT will be considered for the award.

In the case of RTOs, ACT must be the primary state of registration and the nomination should be for the entire ACT operation.

The category you should nominate for is dependent on the amount of qualifications on your scope of delivery in ACT only.

Therefore, provided you meet the other eligibility criteria, if you have fewer than 50 qualifications on your scope of delivery in ACT you would be eligible to nominate for Small Training Provider of the Year. If you have 50 or more qualifications on your scope of delivery in ACT you would be eligible to nominate for Large Training Provider of the Year.

GTOs cannot solely nominate for the employer award categories, however, a GTO can submit a joint nomination with a host employer that meets the eligibility criteria of the category (small, medium or large employer of the year).

Australian Training Awards

The Australian Training Awards are the peak national awards for the vocational education and training sector, recognising individuals, businesses and RTOs for their contribution to skilling Australia.

For more information, please visit the Australian Training Awards website.

Individual winners in the below categories will go on to represent the ACT at the Australian Training Awards:

  • Apprentice of the Year
  • Trainee of the Year
  • Australian School-based Apprentice of the Year
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year
  • Vocational Student of the Year
  • VET Teacher/Trainer of the Year

Winners from the ACT in these categories must attend the Australian Training Awards Finalist Week being held in Melbourne from 16-21 November 2020.

Please note: attendance at the Australian Training Awards Finalists Week is a condition of entry for the ACT Training Awards.

Organisation winners from the ACT Training Awards will enter a second judging process with other state/territory winners from which 3 finalists are chosen for each category.

Organisations will be advised by the Australian Training Awards Team if they are successful in becoming a finalist. The national judging panel will then hold interviews to determine a winner.

Winners will be announced at the Australian Training Awards presentation dinner in Melbourne on Friday 20 November 2020.

There are a number of award categories listed on the Australian Training Awards website that are direct entry categories. These are open to eligible ACT nominees and we encourage you to nominate, however they are not run in ACT.

For these categories, please follow the links in the category description to the Australian Training Awards website to download nomination information or email the Australian Training Awards team or phone on 6240 9874